

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF MINISTER'S SECRETARIAT DE JURE GOVERNMENT OF MANIPUR (GOVERNMENT-IN-EXILE) LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

PRESS RELEASE The London, 17th April 2023

"A STATEMENT OF THE CHIEF MINISTER OF MANIPUR ON THE TERRITORY OF MANIPUR AND THE TERRITORY OF INDIA ARE SEPARATE TERRITORIES SINCE MANIPUR WAS EXCLUDED FROM INDIA"

British sovereign authorities made political arrangements in India under His Majesty's Government policy and British law. Empire, the Indian Empire era ended after the completion of the political arrangement in India and then a **Union**, an *Indian Union* was immediately established by British law. Burma was separated from India under Sections 46(2) and 311 of the Government of India Act 1935 on 1 April 1937. Burma became a **separated State**. The Princely State of Manipur, an Indian State, was excluded from India with its territory under Section 91 of the Government of India Act 1935 by an Order in Council of His Majesty on 27 December 1946. Manipur State became an excluded State. The suzerainty of His Majesty over the Indian States lapsed, and then all the Princely States became freed States from India on 15 August 1947 under Section 7 of the Indian Independence Act 1947. After then, all the princely States acceded to the **Dominion of India** on and after 15 August 1947 by executing the Instrument of Accession between Mountbatten representing His Majesty and the Ruler of the Princely States as head of States under the provisions of the Indian Independence Act 1947 and India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947, and they became acceding **States**. The external sovereignty of the acceding States sharing with India by executing the Instrument of Accession. As a Governor General, Mountbatten was an executive authority, and he was the Governor General of India and Governor General of the Dominion of India under Section 5 of the Indian Independence Act 1947 and Section 7 of the India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947 till the end of 21 June 1948.

India became **British India** after its colonization by the British in 1858 under the provisions of the Government of India Act 1858. **British India** was an integral part of the **British Empire**. The territory of **British India** is a British Overseas Territory of **India**.

British India, a British colony, decolonized and was substituted India under the provisions of the India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947. It is a provisional Constitution of India. The territory of India was divided into two independent Dominions, the Dominion of India and the Dominion of Pakistan under the provisions of the Indian Independence Act 1947 and India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947. The Dominion of India has remained a part of India and the Dominion of Pakistan was separated from India and remained a **separate country**. India is a new independent Dominion and Pakistan is also a new independent Dominion. The territories of India, Indian Empire interpreted under Section 311 of the Government of India Act 1935. After the completion of the political arrangements in India under British law, the territory of India was changed and defined under Section 219(3) of India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947 as "India" means the territories comprised in the Governors' Provinces and Chief Commissioners' Provinces and does not include any acceding State. All the acceding States are outside India according to Section 218 of the India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947 as provided as Omit "in British India" and for "outside British India" substitute "outside India."

On the above facts and reasons, the territories of the separated State, Burma, excluded State, Manipur and acceding State, Jammu and Kashmir, and other acceding States and separated independent Pakistan **are neither the territory of India nor a part of India.** It is a matter of the Constitution and a matter of law.

A **Union**, an *Indian Union*, was established by British law by comprising the Provinces hereafter called Governors Provinces; the Provinces hereinafter called Chief Commissioners Provinces; the Indian States acceding to the Dominion in the manner hereinafter provided, and any other areas that may, with the consent of the Dominion, be included in the Dominion under Section 5 of India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947. The princely States acceded to the Dominion of India are acceding States. The acceding States are a unit of the Union of India, not a part of India. The Union is a group of sovereign States and a political Union like a commonwealth. The structure of the Union is the basic structure of the Constitution of India. The basic structure of the Constitution of India is a matter of existing law related to India. The Union structure cannot be altered by the Indian authorities under existing laws related to India. India – Empire of India, a monarchic State created in 1935 by the Government of India Act 1935, transformed into a republic State after the commencement of the Republic Constitution of India. The British sovereign authority Mountbatten, Governor General, left his office on 21 June 1948 as well as the political arrangements in India were also constitutionally completed on 21 June 1948.

The Republic Constitution of India embodied the territory of India by annexing the territories of the excluded State of Manipur and acceding States, including Jammu and Kashmir, in violation of British law of India and existing law related to India under Articles 366(10) and 372 of the Republic Constitution of India and Article 2(4) of the Charter of the United Nations. It is a negative intention of the Indian authority. The excluded and acceding States were forcibly merged and annexed into India by executing a kind of illegal and unconstitutional Merger Agreement. Now a controversy is rightly arising about **how a Union remains after the annexation of all the acceding States to India**. If another State annexes a State, the annexing State has lost its statehood status means no more remains as a State. The Merger Agreement made by the Indian authorities after Mountbatten left India is fake.

We found many mistakes in the Republic Constitution of India. The territory of the Union itself misleads the world community. All the Provinces have been illegally converted into States. It is a misnomer in the eyes of the law. **India – State of India**, now has become a **Union of India** formerly a **Dominion of India**, a Sovereign Republic State created in 1950 by the Republic Constitution of India. It is a fact that one constitution creates a sovereign State. But the Republic Constitution of India created many States. India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States, *is misread*. It should correctly be read India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of India, *formerly* a Dominion of India. Lastly, we honestly draw the attention of the Indian authorities to make immediate corrections to all the mistakes found in the Republic Constitution of India. Manipur, an excluded princely State, is a separate independent and sovereign country in Asia since it was excluded from India by an Order in Council of His Majesty on 27 December 1946.

On the above facts and reasons, Article 1 of the Republic Constitution of India is incorrectly embodied and defined as THE UNION AND ITS TERRITORY.

Name and territory of the Union

- **1.** (1) India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States.
- (2) The States and the territories thereof shall be as specified in the First Schedule.
 - (3) The territory of India shall comprise -
 - (a) the territories of the States;
 - (b) the Union territories specified in the First Schedule; and
 - (c) such other territories as may be acquired.

Yambem Biren Chief Minister of Manipur

Copy to: The Editor (s).....

for your kind publication in the news column and on cable news.