Territory of India [Dominion of India now the Union of India]

<u>1935</u> - <u>14 August 1947</u>

[Constitution of India]

Government of India Act 1935

Section 311

India – British India [Colony]
British Colony - Colonial Administration

"British India" means all territories for the time being comprised within the Governors' Provinces and the Chief Commissioners' Provinces. [11 Governors' Provinces and 6 Chief Commissioners' Provinces] <u>15.8.1947 - 25.1.1950</u>

[Constitution of India – basic structure]

India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947

Section 219 (3)

India – Dominion of India [**Independence**] British Dominion – Independent Dominion

"India" means the territories comprised in the Governors' Provinces and Chief Commissioners' Provinces, and does not include any Acceding State.

Section 2(1)

India means the Dominion of India The Dominion of India established by the Indian Independence Act 1947, shall as From the fifteenth day of August, 1947 Be a **Union** comprising: -

- (a) the Provinces hereafter called Governors' Provinces,
- (b) the Provinces hereinafter called Chief Commissioners Provinces,
- (c) the Indian States acceding to the Dominion in the manner hereinafter provided, and
- (d) any other areas that may with the consent of the Dominion be included in the Dominion.

26.1.1950 - Present

[Constitution of India-basic structure]

Republic Constitution of India

Article 1(3)

India – Union of India [Sovereign] State – Sovereign and Republic

"India" means the territories comprises in the Governors' Provinces and Chief Commissioners' Provinces, and Does not include and acceding State.

India, that is Bharat shall be a Union of India.

Be a **Union** Comprising: -

Acceding States to the Union are not a part of India.

- Existing Law -

- Existing Law -

- Existing Law -