## During the period of 26 December 1946 to 14 August 1947:

British Law British Government – Supreme Government Government of India by the Crown

Government of India Act 1935 is operating in India: [Crown paramountcy was in operation in Manipur and in India]

27 December 1946	<ul> <li>Manipur excluded from India [Indian Empire] as declared by Order in Council by His Majesty the King under Section 91 of the Government of India Act 1935.</li> </ul>
1 January 1947	<ul> <li>Manipur State Constitution Act 1947 enacted by His Highness the Maharaja of Manipur as sovereign authority for the governance of Manipur State. It is a Legal constitution. State mean the Manipur State created by the Manipur State Constitution Act 1947.</li> </ul>
1 July 1947	- Manipur State Administration Rules 1947 promulgated by His Highness the Maharaja of Manipur as sovereign authority <b>for the administration of Manipur State.</b>
	<b>"In supersession of all previous orders on this subject</b> , His Highness the Maharaja of Manipur has been pleased to <b>promulgate</b> the following rules for the administration of the Manipur State"
	"They shall come into force from the 1 <sup>st</sup> July 1947 and <b>shall override all</b> previous rules"
1 July 1947	<ul> <li>A political agreement made between the Government of India by the Crown and Government of Manipur by His Highness the Maharaja. This agreement made between two Monarchal Governments. It is a Government contract.</li> <li>[Governor of Assam as Agent to the Crown Representative - Manipur State Darbar]. [ Government to Government]. It is a legacy and obligation of the Crown.</li> </ul>
2 July 1947	- A bilateral agreement made between the India [Empire of India] and Manipur [State of Manipur]. India and Manipur are a contracting State. This agreement made between His Majesty's Representative and His Highness the Maharaja of Manipur as head of the two States means between the two Sovereigns. States are Sovereign. It is an international agreement. [States to State]. It is a legal document. The two States, Manipur and India have legal obligation. It is a legacy and obligation of His Majesty.
14 July 1947	<ul> <li>F.F. Pearson became the Chief Minister of the interim Council in accordance with the 1 July 1947 agreement. Pearson formerly was the President of Manipur State Darbar.</li> </ul>

14 August 1947	- By the Order of His Highness the Maharaja of Manipur, F.F. Pearson the British Chief Minister handed over the power to M.K Priyabrata native Chief Minister of the Council. [Paramountcy transfer to Manipur State Council]
	Manipur got <b>independence</b> from British by bilateral agreement of 1 July 1947. Independence Day of Manipur.
15 August 1947	- Crown paramountcy operation end in Manipur State.
15 August 1947	- Manipur became an independent and sovereign State.
	- Manipur is a sovereign country and a sovereign nation in South Asia.
15 August 1947	<ul> <li>Absolute Monarchy system transformed into a Constitutional or Limited Monarchy system in Manipur. Introduced democracy in Manipur.</li> </ul>

After 1947 in Manipur State:

11 June 1948	- General Assembly election in Manipur under the Manipur State Constitution Act 1947
18 October 1948	<ul> <li>First Assembly addressed by His Highness the Maharaja of Manipur.</li> </ul>
26 November 1948	- Constitutional Government formed in Manipur and inaugurated it as agreed
	by the agreement of 1 July 1947.

The political relationship between the two Monarchic States of India [Empire of India] and Manipur {State of Manipur] has been established from the day of 2 July 1947 under the bilateral agreement made between the two Monarchs as head of the States. As a legal document, it is legally enforceable in between the two States. The mutual contract between States is strengthened; it binds them to mutually agreed and recognized principles and rules governing the rights of the States in relation to one another and prescribes a procedure by which those rights can be protected and, in the event of a violation, **redressed**.

The **State** means the **Manipur State** created by the Manipur State Constitution Act 1947. It is also a fact that one constitution creates one State, but the Republic Constitution of India of 1950 creates more than 27 States in India. It is also a fact that the de jure and de facto sovereignty should ultimately coincide, otherwise there is a danger of conflict between the State parties. Since the **de facto Government of India** administering the Monarchic State of Manipur under the Republic Constitution of India of 1950, and **de jure Government** is virtually in the hands of His Highness the Maharaja of Manipur with the Manipur State Council [His Highness's Government].